free hit counters
ALERT-Problem over at Doc's Lab - The Process Forum
The Process Forum  

Go Back   The Process Forum > Content Forums > Transformation

Inflation and Process ClipsProcess Productions Store Inflation and Process Clips

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 08-11-2017   #1
biohawk84
Process Enthusiast
 
biohawk84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 82
ALERT-Problem over at Doc's Lab

So, I went to visit Doc's Lab today and this popped up. Just wondering:
-Has anyone else tried to visit today and seen this?
-You probably DO NOT want to download whatever this is...

Thoughts?
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2017-08-11 at 12.12.12 PM.png (146.3 KB, 337 views)
biohawk84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-11-2017   #2
hellraider2006
Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 238
Re: ALERT-Problem over at Doc's Lab

Same error for me.
Nortons Safe Web doesn´t have any infos about it.

Could be harmless
Could be a virus
Not sure which
hellraider2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-11-2017   #3
Drachen
Just visiting
 
Drachen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In the shadow of the Empire State Building
Posts: 2,136
Re: ALERT-Problem over at Doc's Lab

It's harmless. It's just a PHP file. Someone screwed up the webserver settings and it's serving the raw PHP file instead of the processed HTML.
__________________
Ceterum censeo Carthaginem esse delendam.
Drachen is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-11-2017   #4
wanderhart
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Re: ALERT-Problem over at Doc's Lab

It's harmless; it's a misconfiguration on the server. It can't read a particular scripted page, and so it tries downloading it to the browser.

That's a gross oversimplification, but the file is completely harmless.

(And yes, I have quite a lot of experience in IT)
wanderhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-11-2017   #5
biohawk84
Process Enthusiast
 
biohawk84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 82
Re: ALERT-Problem over at Doc's Lab

Well I hope it gets resolved shortly.
biohawk84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-12-2017   #6
Zachattack94
Process Fan
 
Zachattack94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: The internet
Posts: 46
Re: ALERT-Problem over at Doc's Lab

I had a similar problem about a week ago that resolved in about a day.
Zachattack94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-12-2017   #7
docbyron
that one guy
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 16
Re: ALERT-Problem over at Doc's Lab

Yyyyup. Sorry for the downtime. My hosting company made some "updates" to my server that apparently involved FORGETTING TO INSTALL PHP completely. Calling them up and yelling at them fixed the issue.

The script it was prompting you to download was totally harmless; it's just that the server suddenly didn't know what PHP was anymore and didn't know what else to do with it.

In other news, that hosting company keeps doing stupid shit like this, so I might be looking for another one in the near future. I really wish I could just use AWS and have full control over the servers but, y'know, weird porn...
__________________
~Doc
The Lab | DA | FA
docbyron is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-12-2017   #8
biohawk84
Process Enthusiast
 
biohawk84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 82
Re: ALERT-Problem over at Doc's Lab

Well, I hope your search for a new server doesn't mean the Lab will have to "close". As far as I'm concerned, it has the best (if not one of the best) collections of TF stories out there!
biohawk84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-12-2017   #9
docbyron
that one guy
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 16
Re: ALERT-Problem over at Doc's Lab

Nah, we won't be closing. Worst case scenario, I might have to just stick with my existing shitty host and deal with them doing silly stuff like this once in a while.
__________________
~Doc
The Lab | DA | FA
docbyron is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-13-2017   #10
NMe
Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 163
Re: ALERT-Problem over at Doc's Lab

Quote:
Originally Posted by docbyron View Post
Yyyyup. Sorry for the downtime. My hosting company made some "updates" to my server that apparently involved FORGETTING TO INSTALL PHP completely. Calling them up and yelling at them fixed the issue.
They sound like real pros...
NMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-14-2017   #11
docbyron
that one guy
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 16
Re: ALERT-Problem over at Doc's Lab

I'm aware it's down again. Calling these imbeciles again.
__________________
~Doc
The Lab | DA | FA
docbyron is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-14-2017   #12
docbyron
that one guy
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 16
Re: ALERT-Problem over at Doc's Lab

Don't use Arvixe as a host, kids. I'm learning this week just how horrible they are.

They broke my server so bad they're not even sure when they'll have it back up. Good thing I backed up the database last night just to be safe.

But hey, at least they reimbursed me for this month's hosting fees, right?

.___.
__________________
~Doc
The Lab | DA | FA
docbyron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.